2020/2021 GFD Awards Banquet
By Gettysburg Fire Department
March 26, 2022

On Saturday, March 26, 2022 Gettysburg Fire Department held our annual awards banquet. Due to COVID-19, this year's banquet covered awards from both 2020 and 2021. The room was packed with firefighters, families, and special guests. Everyone enjoyed a social hour at 5pm followed by dinner provided by Biggerstaff Catering at 6pm.

Special thanks to Emmitsburg and Buchanan Valley Fire Departments for providing standby coverage and crews!

Top responders for both 2020 and 2021 were recognized, and department elected officers were sworn in by Gettysburg Borough Mayor Rita Frealing.

We recognized many of our members with these special awards:
Tina Laughman - President's Award 2020
Phil Hartzell - Chief's Award 2020
Zuhair Rafiq - Fire Police Award 2020
Madison Knerr - Junior Firefighter of the Year 2020
John Huff - Donnie Gantz Memorial Training Award 2020
Martin Bagley - Firefighter of the Year 2020
Robert Reacher - Eugene Sickles Award 2020

Dale Powell - President's Award 2021
Joe Temarantz - Chief's Award 2021
Howie Weiss - Fire Police Award 2021
Evan Kahn - Junior Firefighter of the Year 2021
Doug Kahn - Donnie Gantz Memorial Training Award 2021
Jack Ferguson - Firefighter of the Year 2021
Ken Kime - Eugene Sickles Award 2021

Congrats to all these award recipients!

Our banquet was made possible by Huston Fox and banquet committee members Dawn Six, Carrie Bixler, Hope Bixler, Sandy Waybrant, Hank Wybolt, and Jack Ferguson.

All photos by Darryl Wheeler of the Gettysburg Times, used by permission.